Events

Coming up soon

Thursday 25th January 2018 – “Supper and Chaat” with Chetna  Makan

Chetna-2-1170x636

Our first event for 2018 is a culinary treat. Great British Bake Off star, Chetna Makan will be working with chefs at the Yarrow Hotel to produce a wonderful Indian supper, based on her own acclaimed recipes. Ticket price includes a delicious three-course meal and a chance to hear Chetna  sharing her tips, in conversation with Jane Wenham-Jones, as they discuss her latest book “Chai, Chaat & Chutney: a street food journey through India”  followed by a Q&A and book signing. An unmissable evening for anyone who loves eating or cooking Indian food.

Ticket are now available online at WeGotTickets  (subject to a small booking fee) or from House of Martin, 60 High Street, Broadstairs, Kent, CT10 1JT (Weds to Sat 10:00 to 17:00 – cash only please).


Friday 16th February 2018 – The Perfect Match – Romance, Prosecco, Canapes and Chocolate with Katie Fforde and Jo Thomas

Katie Fforde and Jo Thomas will be in conversation with our resident interviewer, Jane Wenham-Jones at The Yarrow Hotel on Friday 16th February 2018, starting at 7:30pm.

Ticket are now available online at WeGotTickets  (subject to a small booking fee) or from House of Martin, 60 High Street, Broadstairs, Kent, CT10 1JT (Weds to Sat 10:00 to 17:00 – cash only please).

Katie Fforde lives in the beautiful Cotswold countryside with her family, and is a true country girl at heart. Each of her books explores a different profession or background and her research has helped her bring these to life. She’s been a porter in an auction house, tried her hand at pottery, refurbished furniture, delved behind the scenes of a dating website, and she’s even been on a Ray Mears survival course. She loves being a writer; to her there isn’t a more satisfying and pleasing thing to do. She particularly enjoys writing love stories. She believes falling in love is the best thing in the world, and she wants all her characters to experience it, and her readers to share their stories. To find out more about Katie Fforde step into her world at www.katiefforde.com, visit her on Facebook and follow her on Twitter @KatieFforde.

Jo Thomas worked for many years as a reporter and producer, first for BBC Radio 5, before moving on to Radio 2’s The Steve Wright Show. In 2013 Jo won the RNA Katie Fforde Bursary. Her debut novel, The Oyster Catcher, was a runaway bestseller in ebook and was awarded the 2014 RNA Joan  Hessayon Award and the 2014 Festival of Romance Best Ebook Award. Jo lives in the Vale of Glamorgan with her husband and three children.

Jo’s new novel, The Honey Farm On The Hill, is set in the glorious mountains of Crete and sure to be a hit with readers who loved The Oyster Catcher and Late Summer In The Vineyard. Fans of Lucy Diamond and Katie Fforde will love this heartwarming, hilarious tale. More details about Jo can be found at http://jothomasauthor.com/, and you can follow her on Facebook and on Twitter @jo_thomas01.


Saturday 10th March 2018 – No Cunning Plan with Sir Tony Robinson

Sir Tony Robinson will be in conversation with Jane Wenham-Jones at The Pavilion, Broadstairs on 10th March 2018.

Ticket are now available online at WeGotTickets  (subject to a small booking fee) or from House of Martin, 60 High Street, Broadstairs, Kent, CT10 1JT (Weds to Sat 10:00 to 17:00 – cash only please).

Jane with Sir Tony

Jane with Sir Tony at ChipLitFest April 2017

Sir Tony Robinson has become Britain’s foremost face of popular history, presenting 20 seasons of Channel 4’s archaeology series “Time Team” and as the creator of the worldwide icon, Baldrick in “Blackadder”.  In a varied and international career he has won two RTS awards, a BAFTA and the International Prix Jeunesse.  He started out at the age of 13 in “Oliver!” and has gone on to enjoy a long acting career in theatre, TV drama and sitcom, and an acclaimed presenting career of documentary and factual television. He is an author of over 30 children’s books and several adult books.

An ambassador for the Alzheimer’s Society since 2008, Sir Tony received a knighthood in the Queen’s Birthday Honours 2013.  In 2016 he released his best selling autobiography, “No Cunning Plan”, with the paperback following in summer 2017.


Friday April 6th 2018 – Hunter and Caitlin Davies

Hunter Davies and Caitlin Davies will be in conversation with Jane Wenham-Jones at The Yarrow Hotel.

img-bec9f0d6ef25e0294e96e69fe3dac1fa

Hunter Davies was born in Scotland, but was brought up in Carlisle.He is the author of innumerable  books, fiction and non fiction, many with a Cumbrian connection, and is also a columnist for the Sunday Times (on money), the New Statesman (on football ) and Cumbria Life (on any old thing). His most recent works are his acclaimed memoirs The Co-op’s Got Bananas and A Day in the Life (Simon & Schuster).

Caitlin Davies is a novelist, non-fiction writer, journalist, teacher and former Royal Literary Fund Fellow. Her books include the memoir Place of Reeds and the acclaimed historical novel The Ghost of Lily Painter. Her latest non-fiction book, Bad Girls: A Century of Women and Crime at Holloway Prison, will be published by John Murray in March 2018, and her latest novel, Daisy Belle: Swimming Champion of the World, which is set in Victorian Margate, will be published by Unbound next summer.

The event starts at 7pm and the ticket price of £12.50 includes a welcome drink and canapes.

Tickets will be available from 9am on 19th December 2017 from WeGotTickets at http://www.wegottickets.com/event/425577


Friday 11th May 2018 – Extra Time with James Brown

James Brown

James Brown worked on the NME, founded “Loaded”, “Jack” and “Leeds, Leeds, Leeds” magazines, and was editor-in-chief of British GQ. He also hosts a weekly show on talkSPORT.

James has been playing football since growing up in the backstreets of Leeds. The sudden death of one his long-standing team mates made him ponder the unique bond between men who meet each other once a week for years, but don’t know any personal details beyond pitch prowess. The result was “Above Head Height” which will be published on 9th February 2018. A must-have book for anyone who has ever played amateur football.

James will be in conversation with Jane Wenham-Jones. The event starts at 7pm and the ticket price is £10.

Tickets will be available from 9am on 19th December 2017 from http://www.wegottickets.com/event/425578


Thursday 21st June 2018 – Being David Archer with Tim Bentinck

Tim Bentnick

1982 was an eventful year for Tim Bentinck. It was the year he landed the part of David Archer, son of the eponymous household in the world’s longest running radio series, The Archers. He has been playing this character ever since. But that’s not all. He is also the voice of ‘Mind the Gap’ on the Piccadilly Line.

In “Being David Archer” Tim recounts his enormously varied life with wry, self-deprecating humour. With five million loyal Archers listeners, Tim takes the reader behind the scenes of the longest running drama series in the world, a British institution with a theme tune that Billy Connolly wants to be the National Anthem.

Tim will be in conversation with Jane Wenham-Jones. Ticket price of £12.50 includes a welcome drink.

Tickets will be available from 9am on 19th December 2017 from http://www.wegottickets.com/event/425581


Friday 19th October 2018 – Vinyl Revival with Graham Jones

Graham Jones

Graham Jones has spent 30 years as a record company sales rep and is one of the founders of Proper Music, one of the largest independent music distributors in the UK. His third book “The Vinyl Revival and the Shops that Made it Happen” is scheduled for release in September 2018.

Graham has collected a vast stock of music industry anecdotes during his working life and he will be entertaining us with a talk and a music quiz. In addition, he will be bringing along a number of promotional CDs that will be available in return for a donation to charity.

Expect a hysterical evening, chock full with tales from the crazy world of record retailing.

The event starts at 7pm and ticket price is £10.

Tickets will be available from 9am on 19th December 2017 from http://www.wegottickets.com/event/425582


Also coming in 2018

We are excited to announce that we are planning more events in 2018, with a number of well known and fascinating guests being lined up. In addition to the events above, we can can confirm that Peter JamesHelen Lederer, and Miriam Margolyes will be among our guests – dates and further details will follow as soon as they are finalised.


Finally, we would like to thank our three partners who are helping us get this literary venture off the ground – Thorley Taverns, and the Pavilion in particular, The Yarrow Hotel and Sharp Printing Services. Big thanks all three organisations for their great support.

Please note that, for anyone travelling from further afield, The Yarrow Hotel are offering special accommodation rates for anyone attending a BroadstairsLit event. If you want to take advantage of this offer, please contact the hotel manager directly, James Redshaw, at James.Redshaw@YarrowHotel.co.uk

thorley-taverns-logo-2

TheYarrow_Logo_RGB

logo